Remember

I remembered you today

Remembered your smile

The way you looked after your siblings

The way you used to make me laugh

I remembered you today

Remembered how you would dance in my class

I remember the way you used to call me Miss

Never knowing this day would come to pass

I remembered you today

And it hurt to know

The way it ended

A young Latino dead

I remembered you today

Your accented voice still clear as day

Asking to help with the problems

Wondering how you could get away

I remembered you today

Wishing I could have done more

Wondering what really happened

Not knowing how much you were hurting

I remembered you today

And i just wanted you to know

That your laughter will never be forgotten

The joy you brought will be carried on forever

2 thoughts on “Remember

  1. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] Lovely poetry!

Leave a Reply

