A world of chaos

It’s hard to put into words what I’m feeling right now. Maybe I should avoid having a mini marathons of Law & Order SVU on my days off, but I can’t help getting sucked in. Regardless, I did watch a couple of episodes today and now here I am thinking about how messed up our world is.

Earlier I told a friend that I watch the show because for the most part there is a happy ending, and in my line of work, there aren’t usually happy endings. I am a counselor. I work specifically with survivors of Domestic and Sexual Violence, both adults and children. I have the type of job that no one wants to talk about. The kind that makes people say “Wow, how can you do that kind of work? It must be so hard.” I usually brush them off by changing the subject or telling them that it helps knowing that they’re not alone in their suffering.

What I don’t tell them is that this works makes me angry. I’m angry because there are so many who don’t accept that this is an issue. It makes me angry that there are those who choose to blame the victim for what happens to her/him. I’m angry because win or loose, the victim still suffers. Not for a couple of days, but for years.

It also makes me sad. I get sad because this world is so lost. We divide ourselves. We point fingers at everyone else but ourselves. I’m sad because society is still telling people that if someone gets raped the victim probably had it coming. I’m sad because if a woman gets beat while in her relationship, she deserved it for not leaving sooner. I’m sad because we are still justifying abuse. We are raising our children to feel like they can do no wrong. There are no values, no morals, no respect. We are just looking out for ourselves. We have become selfish, petty and have become detached to what is going on in the world around us. We refuse to do what’s right.

Regardless I am still doing this work.

Six years ago I knew there was injustice in this world. Six years ago I knew I wanted to make a difference. Then God opened a door that I never imagined would open. He placed me in a position where I could look at the chaos in this world. I have seen the face of hurt. I have seen the face of pain. I know He did not make a mistake in placing me here.

My brother tells me that I’m too much of an idealist. He says that I’m always wanting to change the world. I say no…not the world, but I do want to make a difference. Even if it’s just one person. Even if it’s just one boy who will not grow up to be an abuser. Even if it’s just one girl who will feel confident and sure of herself because she is no longer relying on what society tells her. Even if it’s just one woman who feels that she can overcome every obstacle that has been thrown in her direction. Even if it’s just one man who no longer feels like a coward because he decided not to fight back when his wife attacked him.

We are living in a world of chaos. In my opinion, if you aren’t doing anything to stop it. You are part of the problem. All you have to do is speak up. Speak up against misogynistic language. Speak up against disrespect. Speak up against hate.

The time is now.

Leave a Reply

