Screaming

I hear her voice

Why did this happen to me!

How could he do this?!

What am I going to do!?

I hear her scream

Not just with my ears

But my heart hears it too

And it screams along side her

This world of injustice

This place of despair

Where no one is safe

Not young nor old

She had been raped

Not once

Not twice

But three times

My heart screams

What can I tell her

How can I help

What should I do

I sit

And I listen

Wondering how

This woman has the courage to tell it all now

No longer is she hiding

No longer afraid

She chooses to move on

Taking life day by day

In the quietness of the moment

Her voice no longer screaming

My heart can still hear

The roar of her scream

Nothing can change

The hurt that she’s suffered

Nothing I do can ease the pain that she’s in

She herself is the hero

Standing against those who deny her

Her right to be free

Free from assaults

Free from her pain

She’s screaming for justice

Demanding a change

One thought on “Screaming

Leave a Reply

