My HERstory

I entitled this my Herstory because for a couple of weeks now I have been constantly thinking about the life of my grandmothers. I was lucky to have grown up with 4 of my grandmothers, 2 of which are still living. 3 on my mom’s side and one on my dad’s side. I credit them for helping mold the woman I am today. Granted my parents had a HUGE role in that as well, but my grandmas all came in at a close 2nd.

Each grandmother loved me the way a grandmother should. Each one spoiled/spoils me the way grandmothers should. Each of them have their own way of being creative, 2 crochet, one sews, one did crafts (and I do all of the above!!). Yet each one is so different. Out of the 4, 3 were single mothers, yet all 4 endured years of hardships and sacrifices to maintain their households. Each one has given me tid bits of wisdom that I will cherish always.

My Abuelita Maria was a stubborn woman, one who lived life to the fullest. She enjoyed jokes and family. She was a healer. I remember people coming into her home to get healed through massages. People would say she worked miracles. I remember she would always do her best to comfort the hurting, I believe that I got the desire to help those who hurt from her.

Then there’s my Abuelita Juanita. She was as independent as they come. Always pushing limits and overcoming barriers. She never let anyone tell her she couldn’t do something. She might have been small in stature, but I don’t doubt that she would stand toe to toe with any man out there. From her I got the desire to reach for the stars, to not let people’s opinions and judgments hold me back.

My Abuelita Chole is a soft spoken, loving, caring, gentle hearted person. Just don’t get her mad!! She works as a house wife to my grandpa, and if you knew my grandpa you would definitely agree that he’s a full time job. lol She taught me the importance of family. What it was like to serve and be served. She was always the last to sit down at meals, and always the first one to get and heat up more tortillas.

My Abuelita Toña is a velo wearing, bible quoting, don’t talk mess about my God, Apostolic praying grandma! She loves the Lord like no one else. Her desire to see her family saved is something I share with her. She has taught me so much about loving God and serving Him whole heartedly though criticisms and struggles. She has taught me faith and the importance of prayer.

I am so thankful that God allowed me to have 4 awesome mentors and role models in my life. I value each of the lessons they taught me. My grandmothers will always be a part of me where ever I go.

Leave a Reply

