So much to do

This last couple of weeks in October are going to be BUSY!!! I knew it was going to happen, but it still caught me off guard. 

I’m going out of town for a conference with friends this weekend which is great! I guess that’s more of a mini vacay but what makes it stressful is the book report I need to submit before I leave. I need to turn it in a day before everyone else simply because i don’t know if there’s going to be internet access where I’m going. I’m also getting ready to join my church in recording a live CD at the beginning of November. Which means 2-3 choir practices a week, that along with classes, papers, work, DVAM and home responsibilities has made October a very stressful month. 

Perhaps the most exciting thing that is going to happen so far is LATISM12, I’m really excited to be attending  the conference. I think what gets me more excited is that two of my sorority sisters will be there to enjoy it with me. I’m most looking forward to the Education and Technology presentations but even some of the business presentations are looking really interesting. For some reason it reminds me of when I volunteered at Nuestra Palabra and the Latin@ Career day during my undergrad years. Surrounded by my “raza” and hearing all these great influential Latin@s sharing their wisdom with people like me. Growing up I had never seen Latin@s who were educated, or motivated to change the community. I lived surrounded by stereotypes. We stayed in middle to low income families, have about 10 kids, and fit them all into 1 car. We either cleaned houses, did yard work or worked as receptionist for doctors or lawyers. Everyone around me did just enough to get by. Then I got to college and this whole new world opened up. I think that’s what LATISM is doing. Its allowing the Latin community to keep in pace with everyone else. Yes Latin@s can be bloggers, yes they can be business owners, yes they can be involved in technology. We don’t have to fit a stereotype. We can do all this and more! 

Leave a Reply

